Humm….

Book : Khu Kam 2 (the novel)

kk2-book

Khu Kam (2013 series) OST –  คู่กรรม (Khu Kam) – Backing track

I was debating whether or not I should do this book, but then I thought it would be nice to let people know how Angsumalin lived her life after part I. It was my second attempt that I finished the book because the story was so depressing and without loveline, but the story completed Angsumalin’s life and told us how Kobori’s child turned out to be. Let me warn you that the story is no comedy and may break your heart even more. I won’t get into the details but will give you just some highlights. The story is based on the true story of a political turmoil involving a college student uprising in the capital.

The book consists of two volumes with 44 chapters. The author came up with this book many years later after Khu Kam because she was challenged by her friend if she could write Khu Kam 2, and recently the author gave an interview that she didn’t give anyone permission to make it into a lakorn or movie yet, and for herself, Khu Kam 2 cut deeper into her mind than Khu Kam. If you want to know what happened after part I, you may take a peek, but if you don’t want to suffer further, please skip this post or you will probably throw bricks at me that I didn’t warn you enough.

And if you ask me who are the leads of the story, I would say Angsumalin and Kobori (through his child and Angsumalin’s heart).

Title : คู่กรรม๒ (Sunset at Chaophraya II)

ISBN Vol I : 978-611-7052-02-6

ISBN Vol II : 978-611-7052-03-3

Written on the back cover of volume I :

“Within love, there’s no nationalities but a heart filled with freedom.

By duty during the war, my country – America, that Japanese man was my enemy.

But as gentlemanliness goes, I have to admit that,

That Japanese soldier was a great soldier.

I would not survive till today if…..he didn’t let me go,

And I believe if he didn’t love that woman so much,

He would not take such a risk, and if Angsumalin wasn’t too prideful she might…be able to love him.”

An enemy by duty is different from the feeling of a murderer.

And one day an enemy by duty realizes…a real human being is the mind!

‘That man’  proved his love and his heart with his life.

While ‘one woman’ remains steadfast in love, and stands firm even when death set them apart, she still loves him without drifting.

***

You know…the pain didn’t subside, my love.

It’s time that made us get used to it, just enough ‘to live’ with it.

(Just you see how it goes.)

(Bits of chapter 1)

The story picks up with Ang’s father comes to the house, which now looks like a deserted house. Ang’s mom comes out to receive him. She tells him Ang is not home, she took her son to the doctor, the little boy catches a cold. Ang’s father came to deliver the news that Japan will lose the war, and he’s worried for them because the house is very close to the shipyard. When he leaves, Ang’s mom thinks about Japan will lose the war, whether it will win or lose the war, it doesn’t concern her family except…the little one.

“As if it’s a copy of his father” Grandma said when she saw her little great-grandchild for the first time. The boy looks so red that Angsumalin was worried. “Why is he so red, mom?”

Ang’s mom says, “When the baby looks red, it means when grows up, he will have light skin. It looks like it will be really light.” His eyes are long and oval with really black eyes…..

Pol and Bua have different opinions.

“Father named Kobori, his child should be named Kopi!”

“Wait until your child!” Bua gets angry. “Father named Pol, child must be named Pran (to destroy).”

“So what name do you want? How about Kobua rhymes with your name”

Within admiration, within love, everybody never forget whose son the boy is, now…Japan is about to lose the war. What will become of the son of a Japanese soldier?

***

(Bits of chapter 3)

Vanut comes to Ang’s house, he says he has something to talk to her. His eyes are looking at the tiny body sleeping quietly….he uses one finger to touch the cheek. If….if only it’s a “child” of him and Angsumalin. The pain shots through him, he pulls his hand back as if touching a hot thing…..

“What is his name?” The round bright face, he can’t help but smile at the baby.

Ang’s mom laughs softly, “His mom calls him, Yo…Yo…”

“Yoichi” Angsumalin shouts to him while she’s busy doing the laundry. (*Yo-i-chi, not sure if the spelling is correct)

“Yo…” She pronounces it clearly.

“…means the sun, ichi for the first child, but Thai name is Klin, also means the sun.”

***

(Bits of chapter 13)

He takes a deep breath, not very many know whose son, Klin Chalasin, is….his thin and tall figure turns to arrange the papers in the file neatly before moving it into place.

He thought…he got this habit from his mother.

But it’s so annoying that mom said…

“Your father was a clean and strict man.”

Dad has never died. Dad is within mom’s breathing. Dad is within mom’s eyes. A heart for love, the brightness of the world have stopped when dad passed away. Mom stays alive later for her “duty” of  him.

Does mom truly “love” him?

Very often, he thinks he is only a “reflection” of dad. He hates the man in the mirror who everybody says “looks like dad”.

People who “know dad” wilted, even uncle Bua who loved to tell about.

Uncle Pol, great-grandmother withered away because of old age. Grandmother On stays at the temple more than home.

***

(Bits of chapter 13)

Klin once secretly looked closely at “otousan” ‘s picture. He has to admit that dad is “quite good looking”. This kind of looks, he should become an artist more than a soldier, however…people who knew dad, even uncle Vanut would say the same thing. “A great soldier!”

(*otousan = father)

***

(Bits of chapter 23)

“Mom…” his calling sounds so faint “The fish (hanging crap-ornament) looks so pale, does mom think otousan will see it?”

” Of course, he will, son. Dad is always looking down to us, mom…son all the time.”

***

(Bits of chapter 26)

“Mom….”  his voice sounds ever so gentle, “Can you tell dad’s story to me again?”…….

“Mom, please start from the beginning in detail. Everybody says dad was handsome, even uncle (Vanut) praised that dad’s good-looking. Does Yo looks like dad a lot? Please tell me until the day…mom went to find dad…mom said Yo moved in your stomach, does mom think Yo wanted to help dad too?”

Within the softness of his voice, there’s curiosity, sincerity yet  mixed with sadness.

“Definitely….” she says sweetly. “Mom even told Yo’s dad that this child and mother must pull  dad out of that pile of wood.”

***

(Bits of chapter 44 – FINAL)

Ang tells Yo to play shamisen for her.

“Then, in the future, who will play khim then?”

“Me, here.”

“Yo will have to play alone.”

“When I play khim, I will think I’m playing to mom. When playing shamisen, I’m playing to otousan. Who said I’m alone?

“Good…mom won’t go anywhere…” Next sentence disappears in her chest.

***

There’s a long white trace in the sky above the line of trees. The wind is blowing gently. The smell of Jasmine flowers permeates the air.

“It looks like the Milky Way.”

Klin hears in the distance.

“Are you talking about Tanabata Matsuri, mom?”

“Yes, the seventh day of the seventh month.”

Her memory starts drifting…..

“When I’m about to die, will you come and stay near me?”

“Of course, I will. I will come to take you to that star, the Weaving Princess.”

“What is your heart telling anyone?”

“It’s saying I love you, Hideko…I love you.”

“When you’re going to leave me, will you bid me good-bye?”

“Anata wo aishiteimasu. I always love you, Hideko…love, always.”

Her pale lips is mumbling “I can play that song on the shamisen now.”

“I will try playing the shamisen for otousan.”

“He’s right here listening.”

The sweet lonely sound of the shamisen beat rapidly into the wind……

Two stars travel close to each other. The twinkling light glitters so brightly.

And if thou stay up yonder,

Then I shall meet thee there.

Ah……

A cold mist from the tears of the stars disperses. The twinkling light is like the two pairs of an eye that will be looking down gently, to console the lonely one.

Feeling chill from the shower of dewdrops, the wind blows softly.

All are floating away and disappear, will it ever return.

[THE END]

Categorised in: Book, Khu Kam (2013), Thai Drama

58 Responses »

  1. Is there an English translation of the book?

  2. I just finished watched Khu Kam 1 (Bie and Noona), and i cried for a very long period after watched. A great drama ever! Also great version of Khu Kam. Thank you for sharing novel of Khu kam 2. Poor Ang, she lived in sadness, loneliness and broken heart condition, but must stay still for Yoichi. Ang dedicated her life for Kobori and son. No other man. Love it for sure. I hope they will make it into drama, and the cast still Bie and Noona and others casts as Khu Kam 1 😊 thks again for sharing.

  3. Im watching bie and noona version over and over again..and i can’t help myself from getting depressed for kobori’s death..he such a great and adorable man/husband .. Love bie so muchh T_T…btw u’re my saver…thanks for the summary at least i Know that ang and kobori finally together…all i can imagine is bie and noona

  4. It is a wonderfull story. I cried a lot.
    But i still don’t no why angsumalin her dad leave them and got married again.
    It seems that he still love ang her mother. Does anywhone now? Please write it.
    Thanks a lot.

    Alie

    • I checked the synopsis online and it said Ang’s father left them to advance in his career.

      He’s a high-ranking officer working behind the scene for the country’s stability during WWII. The pain was there for Ang and her mother, but not sure about her father (as in: still in love). I think they were more like old friends but I will look at the novel again…when I have time 🙂

      Now you know why there are so many remakes…and still counting, such a classic story.

  5. I just want to know that is there a way that I can reals the full story of Koo Kum in English. I’m a big fan of it after watched Bie and Noona’s version. Want to read the original story since the start to the end.

  6. I think the ending in the novel is very nice… but why Yoichi in the Khu kham 2 movie was dead in the end?? i took a sneak peak to the ending and found out he was dead and never want to watch the whole movie anymore..so depressing.. 😥

  7. I can’t get over Kobori’s death. I’m curious to know what happen to the Ang and the baby. Thanks for your translation. It does help a little with coping with Kobori’s death.

  8. Hey, may you tell me what happen to Dr. Yoshi and Dr. Takeda? Thanks =)

    • Sorry, I just saw your question. The book said they left the shipyard on a truck behind bars where Ang and Yo were there to say good-bye. I think there was a conversation between Ang and Dr.Takeda about what would happen to them after Japan lost the war but I forgot what it was and I don’t know where I kept the book now so…hehe.

  9. Just wondering, I’ve been looking for the novel for quite awhile, but can’t really find it. Do you have any idea where I can get a copy of it? Thanks (:

    • I don’t think it’s out of print yet (printed in Thai language). I’ve have never bought Thai novels online but you could try these leading book stores: Kinokuniya, Asia Books, Naiin. Their web sites should be of similar names. Khu Kam 2 is not as popular as Khu Kam, so you may have to ask the salesperson in the bookstore for it. Hope that helps!

  10. Hello? i was wondering is thier any movie? that contines onto this? i have already saw the khukam movie tho?

    • Nope, not that I know of 🙂
      Though Bie has a new movie coming around March 2014, “Teacher’s Diary” from GTH starring Ploy Chermarn. Also, Exact is in the process of bringing “Khang Lang Phap” (Behind the Painting The Musical) to Broadway USA, and Bie went to many rounds of audition already [OHO Magazine Vol.138, an exclusive interview with Bie].

  11. Thank u so much for translating some bids of Khu Kam 2. I was crying when i read these words. So touching, so hearbreaking 😦 I can’t stop thinking about this drama (Bie-Noona) and this translation. It’s so harassing for me, that I kept watching this drama again and again…smile,nervous…then cry.
    Love Bie and Noona version so much. They’re so great in this drama.

  12. Thank you so much for translating part 2. I am desperate to learn Thai so that I can purchase the novel. 555 It’s quite pricey but I can’t wait to get my hands on the novel, that’s if it ever happens. lol Anyways, I really appreciate it, your hardwork and so forth! 😀
    I really pity everyone in Khu Kam. What broke my heart the most was when Ang went to go bid Dr. Takeda goodbye. It will never be the same without him and Dr. Yoshi. The bromance between Takeda and Kobori was inseparable. He was the only one who witness Kobori and Ang’s love from the beginning to the end. I wish Yoishi did have a happy ending and also end up with Sra. I know that in Dan W. & Donut M. version, they did end up together. If only. 555 I guess I was lied to this whole Time. Haha I seriously thought that was the real ending to part 2 but it wasn’t. Regardless, I kind of did still enjoyed it. Hehe 😛
    Part 2 sounds just as amazing as part 1. What an amazing classic. Now, all that is left is for someone to go dare Thommayanti to write part 3. LOL I’m just kidding. It would be nice to see Kobori’s bloodline continue on for the next couple of decades and not just end after his first child. lol Too bad they never got a chance to see Kobori’s parents and visit Japan. 😦 Now, I am going to go cry in my sleep because once again I am reminded of Kobori’s death, the man who captured my heart. 555 Thank you once again for the translation!! Keep it up! 😀

    • Oh! And also I was really proud of Klin when he announced Kobori’s name and walked away like a boss. I bet Kobori was just as proud of him as I was. 555 I’m glad he opened up his heart and learned to love and appreciate his father. The way Ang passed away…wow. At least now she is with Kobori up in the milky way, looking down at the child they have conceived together. Okay. Off to cry to myself now. LOL

    • Hi! i really like this novel. Can you tell me both of 2 novel ( khu kam 1 &2) have english version? thks you so much:)

  13. I’m really sad to hear about Kobori’s parent. They didn’t get a chance to see him again and they didn’t get a chance to meet the woman and child their beloved son love so much. I really wish the writer didn’t take that approached. Just too sad to just wrote them off without getting to know them. If I was Ang, I would want to meet them and have them be an influence on my son’s life. I will repeatedly thank them for doing such an exceptional job with raising their son and what an incredible person he was.

    Knowing Kobori’s loving character and knowing Ang prideful stubbornness, I think the son will live a better and much more happier life with Kobori’s parents, not to mention better characters influences. From reading what you’re saying about Khu Kam 2, looks like the son is suffering from major inferior complex with his father because of his mother unresolved feelings and inferior complex with his father’s nationality. I feel so bad for him. As parents we must care for our child physical needs as well as their emotional needs. Looks like Ang is too broken to provide that for him. He has to find himself among all the messes. Poor guy. Bringing children into a world like that is a very sensitive topic for me.

    And I wish the writer will fullfill Kobori’s dream of Ang and son visiting his parents and Ang playing the Thai instrument for the mom while his mom played the Japanese instrument. Or his dream of Ang seeing the sukara blossom in full bloom. Khu Kam 2 is like a beautiful blossom weathering away. A horrific event that leads to lives destroyed, dreams unfulfilled and a broken world where you can’t go back to how things were yet you can’t move forward with your life because the past hold you steadfast and so you’re just stuck in the same place. A life not living but waiting to end.

  14. Thank you so much. Just wanted to say I shed tears when i read the part where the son talked about him moving in Ang’s tummy because he wanted to help his father.* flash back * i can see Noona’s face during the final scene, she was so afraid to lose Kobori. Exact wrapped up KooGum so well.

    But may I ask you to elaborate more on why Yochi hated his father at first?

    And may I add that it makes me quite angry that Vanut gets to build a relationship with Kobori’s son? Vanut was the indirect cause of Kobori’s death!!”…. And my heart still breaks for Kobori’s parents. What a tragedy! 😥

    • From what I can remember, Yo spent his time growing up with his father’s shadow surrounded him. There’s a part that I translated above that he thinks his father is in his mother’s eyes, everything is all about his father so he’s in doubt whether or not his mother loves him. Plus, he was born when the Japanese lost the war and they are hated by most people, and he thinks his mother raised him because of her duty but her mind is always with his father. Yo is more comfortable with Vanut because he’s not so strict like Ang,so Yo can talk freely to him.

      Personally, I think Kobori’s son was raised by a woman whose heart was totally broken and always thought that someday she would join him again. She stayed alive only to raise her son, it’s her duty to him. I guess her son could absorb all that and realize that a huge part of his mother had died, and Yo has never met his father in person, I guess it will be hard for a son to connect deeply to Kobori. But fear not, Yo loved his father in the end.

  15. Thank you so so much for the translations & letting us know what Khu Kam 2 is about.

    I love this story although it is so sad and make you wish for a happy ending so bad. I really hope that those 2 books are/will be translated completely in English so that I’ll be able to enjoy reading them 🙂

  16. So sorrry folks, it’s my mistake. All the translations were taken from the two volumes of the novel, and I just put the chapter number it in. Thus, the last part is actually the ending of Khu Kam 2, only that there was a short poem in the end that was so difficult to translate (already added above).

    Throughout the books, the author inserted many poems both in Thai and English making it too hard to translate with the original meaning in tact. But I can give you a short summary that Klin grew up didn’t want to hear people or his mom talking about his dad, in his mind, he thought when the sorrow will ever end?

    Angsumalin would speak to her son in Japanese from time to time, she said to him that he should know his dad’s language. But the boy wouldn’t speak but could understand all of it. She also taught him to play both khim and shamisen when he was a boy, and he didn’t want to but she would held his hands to play anyway.

    Japan lost the war, and Angsumalin wore Kobori’s yukata holding Yoichi (she thought, it’s Kobori’s men so his son should do the duty instead) when sending off all the soldiers at the shipyard including Dr.Takeda. They exchanged words of a sad good-bye.They all got into a truck with bars as they were now captives. When the truck started moving out, the Thais shouted Banzai Chai Yo! and the soldiers on the truck shouted Banzai! Banzai!

    Many Japanese soldiers committed suicide when losing the war, and Angsumalin wondered if Kobori would do the same or not, but she thought it would be too sad for him, if he’s alive when Japan lost the war because he honored his pride and duty the most.

    Klin grew up as a good-looking man, he became a teacher in Economics at Thammasat University, where he involved in the initiation of the student uprising against the government and Japan economic power at that time. But later the students found out who his father was. They insulted him by calling out Kobori’s name. Kobori! Do you know Kobori? Your’s father name is Kobori, isn’t it? Klin got angry and said, You shouldn’t be callling someone else’s atousan like that? His eyes shone so bright and said, Lt. Kobori Kaikun Chikan (not sure about the spelling), a Navy soldier, anything else you want to know? If not…sayonara! He’d been hiding his father’s identity for so long both to himself and others, but now, he felt proud of his father.

    Later he resigned and the incident stirred up his love for his father, and he started speaking Japanese with his mom, playing khim, shamisen. Every year duringTanabata Mutsuri, Angsumalin would change the carp-ornament with a new one,and make paper lanterns for Kobori to see. Klin didn’t help her much but after the incident, he sat down with his mom and together they made lanterns, and he started asking about his dad.

    After the students rejected him, he stepped aside, and didn’t get involve in their activies anymore. Vanut became rich because his dad got many lands and wanted Klin to work for him. Klin and Vanut were very close, and Klin saw Vanut as his father figure, and at one time, he wanted him to be his real father. The two would talk, and Vanut thought Klin was soft from the outside but hard inside like his mother, while Kobori was hard outside yet soft from the inside. Vanut made a joke that he and Klin would end up die single. Vanut told Klin that it would be hard to find a girl just like his mom, but Klin wouldn’t answer.

    There were two women in Klin’s life. Jitapa was also a teacher in the same university and was the one Klin told his mom that he liked her but didn’t think of getting married. Another one, Sra, one of his student who looked every bit like Angsumalin and loved Klin, but she turned to be the niece of his grandfather (from Ang father’s new wife). (I really felt disappointed that Sra was not a heroine for Yo.) Sra was a fierce fighter on the stage during the uprising.

    The student uprising occured and many were dead. Sra was badly injured both mentally and physically. Angsumalin fell sick but didn’t let her son know. Jitapa told Kobori she already got engaged before she met him. Klin wished her well, not sure if he had a broken heart because he concealed it too well. In the end, Jitapa took Sra with her abroad for her treatment and to be with her fiance.

    Angsumalin felt so weak that night and her med ran out. She asked Klin to play shamisen for her and lied down which was the last chapter above.Angsumalin thought she was ready for “the journey” as Klin was now mature enough. And that’s end of the story.

    About Kobori’s family in Japan, Angsumalin got some gifts from them when she gave birth to Yo. Later, when Klin was still a boy, she got a letter that Kobori’s dad passed away and his mother really wanted to see her grandchild (Kobori was their only son) once before she died, but when Angsumalin told the boy, he just ignored the request. And when Klin turned a man, Kobori’s parents had all passed away (I think). So they never actually met with Kobori’s family.

    Well, a short summary, it is. When I finished the books, I thought, there should be Khu Kam 3, because the story of Kobori’s family in Japan was missing imo, and Klin had the rights to have a happy family who would live together for a long time, like Ang prayed for her son. It would be nice if he would meet a girl exactly like his mom, or a Japanese girl that he had to pursue her, like father like son 🙂

    • Hihi I though this is teaser b4 u post the full story.but its ok thank u so much this is enough for me. But if u can tell us in detail how yoichi become proud of his late father.

      • Sorry for a late reply. Actually I forgot how, because Klin was a man of very few words, and he talked more freely with uncle Vanut. I’ll translate the part where he got insulted by his students. Start from where Klin said his dad’s name proudly in front of his students.

        His eyes shone so bright and said, Lt. Kobori Kaikun Chikan (not sure about the spelling), a Navy soldier, anything else you want to know? If not…sayonara!

        He turned and walked out slowly. It’s strange that within the pain, there’s a sign of relief hidden. His eyes were looking straight ahead but empty. He couldn’t comprehend who was walking pass by or coming forward, or what they were doing.

        His head felt empty like an empty skull, but, as though, there’s a sound of music came up. He tried to listen to the sweet rapid beats.

        “Khim, it must be…” but there’s also a sound of another musical instrument intervened, “Shamisen, also it could be”.

        The two sounds intertwined…he remembered clearly because his mother played this song very often, and it’s also this song that his mother held his hands to play.

        …(a poem of the song)…

        The sound of a shamisen came up. It must be otousan wanting to console him.

        “Go home!” he said loudly and used his own voice to be his company.

        (Chapter 23)

        When he came home, Angsumalin could notice it right away and she asked, “Yo…what happened?”
        …”Are you not feeling well?” She grabbed his arm.

        “…(in Japanese)…I had a headache since this morning.” He muttered. She’s startled, Klin might ‘know some’ of the language of his father but it’s very rare that he would “speak on his own” without forcing it. Today…Angsumalin’s heart jerked sharply.

        …..His hand grasped her small wrist….The small shoulders of his mother carried so much burden, including the ‘dignity’ of herself and his father. Today, he should ‘shift that weight’ onto his shoulders.

        Is it so embarrassing that his otousan is Lt.Kobori ?
        What’s so wrong that he had a Kaikun Chikan as his father?

        …..”What happend, Yo?” his mother questioned him softly. His mom was too clever to just refuse “there’s nothing”. The most important thing was he never lied to his mother….

        “There’re someone knew…” he toned down the intensity of the story he’s going to tell his mom. “They knew…who is otousan.”

        Mom didn’t show any sign of alarm or surprise. “What’s that got to do with it?”

        He stayed still and didn’t answer. Her thin slender hand reached out to touch his bigger hand.

        “Yo..a real human being is not about nationality, son, but through his conduct. The best conduct is to be honest, honest to others as equally as to himself. Today, if mom could turn back time, and was asked whether mom would marry your dad. Mom would answer…definitely.”

        Her last word felt so bright and clear. “Yo’s dad…was a real human being. Since mom had you, mom’s always been proud of you. Mom is proud of what mom has and be. Mom is happy that mom has loved, and been loved. Mom’s never disappointed in Yo’s otousan, never feels bad to have Yo. Mom’s always feeling proud like this, that’s why mom never feels afraid of anything. What is Yo afraid of?” The last words asked him in return.

        …..He looked at his mother. Mom’s face seemed plain yet always looked peaceful. Mom’s beauty was shining from the inside….that must be why dad loved mom till his last breath. Klin smiled, his eyes were sparkling. That smile made Angsumalin smile back brightly because the shadow of her love one was hiding behind that kind of smile.

        *After this, Klin started speaking Japanese freely and opened his heart to his father who he had never seen.

        I hope this part will help you get an idea how Klin changed his attitude toward his father, the novel addressed the issue indirectly and made you interpret it yourself 🙂

    • Aww. I really thought that was a teaser before you post up the whole story. But I guess without Kobori and Ang as the main lead, I would not be that interested as part 1. Anywho, thank you again for the summary. The whole story left me wondering, who suffered the most in Khu Kam? Was it Kobori, the one who gave all his love away to 1 woman, or Angsumalin, the one who suffered from having to keep all the love to herself?

    • Ah thanks for the summarization of Khu Kam 2. Klin does deserve a happy ending but I like it without a part 3. My reason is reality isn’t always fills with happiness and relationships falls and new ones build. It would be too cliche if he me someone like his mom or something like that. It ruins the real-ness of the story. But I would like to imagine that go him!

      • When I finished reading Khu Kam 2, I was amazed at how talented the author was because Khu Kam 2 didn’t make Khu Kam become any less classic at all and it felt as though Kobori was pretty much alive throughout Khu Kam 2, through Angsumalin’s heart and his son. Yunno, I felt sad for Yoichi, he would spend his life playing khim and shamisen alone in that antique wooden house by the river. But fear not, Vanut was rich and didn’t plan to get married, he would probably give all of his assets to Yo….and Yo could come to me….buahaha……

    • I’m really sad to hear about Kobori’s parent. They didn’t get a chance to see him again and they didn’t get a chance to meet the woman and child their beloved son love so much. I really wish the writer didn’t take that approached. Just too sad to just wrote them off without getting to know them. If I was Ang, I would want to meet them and have them be an influence on my son’s life. I will repeatedly thank them for doing such an exceptional job with raising their son and what an incredible person he was.

      Knowing Kobori’s loving character and knowing Ang prideful stubbornness, I think the son will live a better and much more happier life with Kobori’s parents, not to mention better characters influences. From reading what you’re saying about Khu Kam 2, looks like the son is suffering from major inferior complex with his father because of his mother unresolved feelings and inferior complex with his father’s nationality. I feel so bad for him. As parents we must care for our child physical needs as well as their emotional needs. Looks like Ang is too broken to provide that for him. He has to find himself among all the messes. Poor guy. Bringing children into a world like that is a very sensitive topic for me.

      And I wish the writer will fullfill Kobori’s dream of Ang and son visiting his parents and Ang playing the Thai instrument for the mom while his mom played the Japanese instrument. Or his dream of Ang seeing the sukara blossom in full bloom. Khu Kam 2 is like a beautiful blossom weathering away. A horrific event that leads to lives destroyed, dreams unfulfilled and a broken world where you can’t go back to how things were yet you can’t move forward with your life because the past hold you steadfast and so you’re just stuck in the same place. A life not living but waiting to end.

  17. Is there an ost out for this drama???

  18. Thank you so much for translating this. 🙂 I wish there was an English translation. I would buy it in a heartbeat. If ever I’m in Thailand, I want to pick up my own copy even if I can’t read it. Perhaps, that will motivate me to learn Thai from my Dad and maybe take a class or two of Thai language.

  19. Awe. I came home and found a nice gift waiting for me on your site!! Thank you! So nice to know how she continues to live her life. Oh how i wish they would have translated this book; would have brought it in a heart beat. A beautiful love story with a meaningful message about love (bittersweet ending)

  20. I know this is a lot to ask but is there a way you could translate the whole book 1 and book 2??

    • Nop! As I said, the author’s beautiful wordings were difficult to translate 🙂 But for Khu Kam (the novel), Bie-Noona version was very close to the original, all of their dialogs mostly were similar to the novel, I checked 🙂

  21. Thank u so much for the prt 2 translation! Earlier I was trying to see if there is a eng translation on the first novel to compare n contrast but here u go (one step further) in translating the second novel. Thank u! I love ur translation!

  22. Honto ni Arigatou… A million thanks for this novel translate. please keep it up. please do it until the end of the chapters. I’m a big fan of khu kam. n dont care all the warning that u warn us. i will definitely want to read this.
    Angsumalin love kobori so much that she cannot accept another man in her life. i glad about it. it so pity kabori die. his child must be proud to have a father just like him. as if he still alive , things will be so perfect.

    • Vanut told Yoichi that there were two times in his life that’s so painful for him. The first time was when he learned that Angsumalin got married, the second time was, when she rejected him again after Kobori had passed away.

      When Japan was about to lose the war, Vanut proposed to Ang, as he could protect her and her son. But she refused. Actually, she refused everyone’s help after Kobori’s death including Dr. Yoshi and Dr.Takeda. She insisted to stand on her two feet. Whenever there’s a sound of an air raid siren, she would take her mom and grandma in a boat, and with Yo in her arms. They would row to the temple for safety, as her house was too close to the shipyard.

      • I’m pity of vanut sometime. Its hard got rejected twice. Thank u for the extra bits. Ang so strong. Her love for kobori so strong n no body can replace his place. I wish I can read Thai hehehe.

      • She is too prideful and stubborn. Again happiness is within her reach with Vanut but she didn’t take it. I understand her love for Kobori but still, she’s making she exact mistake she once did with Kobori by not grabbing on to happiness. Prides hurt and prides can kill. It already killed Kobori and now it’s killing her alive. And she should not be too prideful as to not accept Dr. Yoshi and Dr Takeda’s help. It was Kobori’s last request to his friend before he died. Why wouldn’t Ang allowed him that privileged.

        • I don’t think she was being prideful and stubborn even if happiness was within her reach. She didn’t love Vanut the same way he loved her. Even if he could protect her, it still wouldn’t be the same. There’s no love. Ang wants to commit herself to Kobori only and no one else after his death. If I remember it correctly, Ang didn’t want to be with anyone else for she made a promise(?) to love Kobori only since she could not give him that happiness and dedication before and after they got married. There is no point of her getting with Vanut if all she saw and thought about was Kobori. Vanut would definitely not approve that but would probably suck it up. lol

  23. Is this book available in English version ??

  24. THANKYOU SO MUCH! You’re always fast with translation and very good at it. Just when I was super curious about what life would be like after Kobori’s death to Ang, you posted this. You’re such a life saver! Although it may be heart breaking, I would still rather know than to stay curious forever. LOL Please continue to translate the following chapters whenever you have time. Thank you in advance! I really hope ch 5 can make khu kam 2 with Bie & Noona again!

  25. Thank you so much for the warning and for posting the translation. I wanted to read it but a part of me just coudn’t. That’s because my heart is still broken over Kobori’s death so if I read about Ang and their child’s sad life, I don’t know what my heart will do. But thanks again for posting it. Don’t take it off your website. When I feel better, I will come back and read it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Koo Kam (CH5 series 2013) | Hkudo88
  2. Book : Khu Kam 2 (the novel) | 安 | lydia

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories