Humm….

August dramas, are you ready?

Mission : Sort out the temptations

Playful Kiss OST

Okay, one will premiere in September, but I’ll put it here anyway. Up there, To the Beautiful You, cross-dressing theme, a remake of the Japanese Hana Kimi.

Genre: Romance, Comedy

Episodes: 16 (To Be Confirmed)
Broadcast network: SBS
Broadcast period: 2012-Aug-15 to 2012-Oct-04
Air time: Wednesday & Thursday 21:55

Don’t ya think they all look cute and young & fresh? The girl dresses up as a boy, I’d say good job done. It’s believable, rule number one aka take it or leave it (or else you would never enjoy the cross-dressing). The story of a girl enters an all-boys highschool to help her idol high jumper to get back on track after the accident (if it’s same as the Japanese, that is). The school with dorms and all, and you know what will happen with so many young boys in one place, and that is the highlights…..all hell break loose (I hope).

Now, the one that is a must-watch for me from day one is Arang and the Magistrate.

Genre: Fantasy, Melodrama, Period, Mystery, Comedy, Romance  (all that?)

Episodes: 20 + 1 Special Episode
Broadcast network: MBC
Broadcast period: 2012-Aug-08 to 2012-Oct-18
Air time: Wednesday & Thursday 21:55

Finally got a synopsis that gave me more on what to expect (but don’t take it too seriously).

The drama is based on famous folklore.

During the Joseon era in the city of Miryang, Arang (Shin Min Ah) was the pure, beautiful, good-hearted daughter of a magistrate. She grew up without a mother, and was raised by a wicked caretaker who conspired to have her be raped and ruined by a servant. He attacked and she resisted, so he stabbed and killed her, and left her body to rot in the woods.

Her father the magistrate just believed that she dishonorably eloped with a man and so resigned his position swathed in shame. Thus the legend goes that every time a new magistrate comes to Miryang to fill the position, Arang’s vengeful ghost shows up to tell him her story and he flees in terror.

But one day a new magistrate comes to town — a young man by the name of Eun Oh (Lee Joon Ki). Arang appears to him like every other magistrate before him, but this man doesn’t flee, and instead sympathizes with Arang, and promises to find her killer and avenge her death.

(Source : Wikipedia)

Then, the mega project, Faith.

Genre: Romance, Historical, Fantasy, Time-Travel

Episodes: 24 (To Be Confirmed)
Broadcast network: SBS
Broadcast period: 2012-Aug-13 to 2012-Oct-30
Air time: Monday & Tuesday 21:55

The story of  a warrior  Lee Min Ho of the Goryeo era kidnaps a 2012 plastic surgeon,

“This drama shows the love between a warrior from the Goryeo Period and a female doctor from the present day, their love transcending time and space.”  (koreandrama.org)

And I hope (with some doubts) that the show will deliver. But what got my attention is the production credits:

Director: Kim Jong Hak
Screenwriter: Song Ji Na

Solid team, right? Love the director in Legend, not a big fan of this writer but we’ll see. The fantasy part better be good for this one (and my interest is counting on it).

Oh no, May Queen.

Genre: Romance
Episodes: 32
Broadcast network: MBC
Broadcast period: 2012-Aug-18 to 2012-Dec-02
Air time: Saturday & Sunday 21:50

It’s obvious. It’s Kim Jae Won. It’s a must-check for me though not sure will be patient during the young version for a drama this long. But definitely will come back to (at least) see my love from Can You Hear My Heart

To be honest, I’m not sure I like that Kim Jae Won chosen this project.

Two men fight for one love from an ambitious woman who made her way up in her career. Not a very convincing synopsis and posters, I’d say. Not sure will stay on board with this one till the end if the big IF occurs.

Humm….Five Fingers.

Well, it’s Joo Ji Hoon and Ji Chang Wook, and it’s on need-to-check-it-out status (and may stay there). Love Joo Ji Hoon in Antique Bakery too much to not see his come back  project. And the five and not ten fingers is still on debate.

Genre: Romance, Musical, Melodrama
Episodes: 30 (To Be Confirmed)  Oh, NOooo!
Broadcast network: SBS
Broadcast period: 2012-Aug-18 to 2012-Nov-25
Air time: Saturday & Sunday 21:50

Synopsis

“Five Fingers” is about young people who each have their  own tragedies to overcome and achieve their dreams.

Yoo Ji Sang (Joo Ji Hoon) is a genius pianist with perfect pitch in the show. While he overcomes a tragic past and childhood scars to chase his dream, he gets caught up in a bitter rivalry with the rich successor to a corporation.

Mehhhhh.

Now, now…..Nice Guy.

A traditional melodrama about a man who uses a woman who lost her memory to take revenge on a woman who betrayed him (hancinema.net).

Now the drama didn’t get me excited until I knew the name of the writer, Lee Kyung Hee, who penned my beloved Will It Snow For Christmas and Thank You. So, melo it is, I will stay with it to the bitter end, sleeping on top of  boxes of  Kleenex (the soft kind) on the condition that time permits.

Of all the people, Song Joong Ki is definitely the one to surprise us on how a nice guy turns not so nice, hope the writer won’t go cruel with his character and make him cry in every episode. Good thing is, both dramas mentioned have happy endings (kind of), so I hope the same will apply to this one.

Heard it will premiere in September after some mask man hehe.

Now, for the newly premiered rom-com that’s moving fast on my chart, Haeundae Lovers.

Synopsis

A romantic comedy happening in Haeundae (Busan) that tells the story of Lee Tae Sung (Kim Kang Woo), a prosecutor who loses his memory and becomes involved with gangsters. He then meets and falls in love with Go So Ra (Jo Yeo Jung), who is the daughter of a gangster.

Genre: Comedy, Romance
Episodes: 16
Broadcast network: KBS2
Broadcast period: 2012-Aug-06 to 2012-Sep-25
Air time: Monday & Tuesday 21:55
First time feeling something for Busan, and that’s telling 🙂

9 Responses »

  1. May Queen Trailer

    Omo….Jae-won vs Jae-hee (what to dooo?), and can you believe it? Even the two kids look hot. Wah….KJW’s voice…it’s been a long time. I really hope the writing will do these actors justice.

    • OMG sorry for the late reply, I saw the first two eps of faith and loved it lee min ho had me swooning and I love the girl already I can’t wait to see them fall in love, and TTBY watching now and liking it, just seen the teaser for may queen not sure if I’ll check it out or not but noticed the kids though the girl from TMTETS, the boy that played young yeo un (WBDS) and the other boy I think was the one that played jan di’s younger brother in BBF/BOF but I may check it out nice guy looks interesting too, so for now the only dramas I’m watching is faith, TTBY, sprout (japanese drama) and not forgetting arang and the magistrate

      • You should check Arang; I love YSH as the Jade Emperor (pure and funny and wisdomeee), not sure how many episodes he will stay though. I heard the kids’ story in May Queen will take 9 episodes, nooooo! I want to see the adult cast asap TT_TT

        • yh I’m watching arang as well of course it bored me a little at first though but shin min ah and lee jun ki are adorable and yoo seung ho is as well 😀 may queen having 9 eps of just the kids count me out lol

          • YSH (The Jade Emperor) is now the reason I watch Arang *squeals*
            The writing is good but YSH simply shined brightly in my eyes, especially when he weaved his magic power aww…

            • yh YSH is of course my fave in the drama probably one of the reasons why I am still watching it 😀 this may come across as harsh since alot of people are loving this drama but personally for me it’s sort of boring me a bit at the moment, but lee jun ki and shin min ah are adorable so……

  2. Five Fingers Teaser

    Okay, piano scores might get me on board with this one.

  3. ooooooooo all these dramas look really good to the beautiful you is the one that I’m looking forward to the most I think sulli looks really good cross-dressing since alot of people were complaining about her taking up the role,,,but lee hyun woo I wish he didn’t have to have that weird boulcut hairstyle it just looks weird lol, it’s not the first time that I’ve seen a cross-dressing drama I saw you’re beautiful and for some reason TTBY reminds me of she’s the man (american movie) , next on my list is arang and the magistrate I had my eyes on it from when I first heard about it and yoo seung ho will be in it :D, then there’s faith, it’s lee min ho afterall hehe, now five fingers I thought about watching since I said I was going to follow ji chang wooks career but I’m going to miss out on this one considering the amount of eps and also since it’s like a makjang and they only make me really really frustrated,,,

    • Aww, yes, I forgot (your) YSH will be in Arang. Faith, based on the teaser, reminds me a lot of Legend, and I’m not sure I like that but you’re right, it’s LMH hehe. That you even mentioned Five Fingers, I can see your big support for JCW. But this drama still has a chance to be a good makjang (if there’s such a genre ^^) considering JJH past works, the man is hot on screen.
      Anddd…three days to To the Beautiful You and counting!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

