Humm….

Korean Cuisine : Pajeon

Pajeon is a variety of jeon  ( pancake-like dishes)  with green onions as its prominent ingredient. Pa literally means green onion in Korean. It is a pancake-like Korean dish made from a batter of eggs, flour, rice flour, green onions and other additional ingredients depending on the variety. Beef, pork, kimchi, shellfish and other seafood are mostly used.

Pajeon is usually recognizable by the highly visible green onions. It is similar to a Chinese Green onion pancake in appearance but is less dense in texture and not made from a dough.  It is not to be confused with bindaetteok, which is a mung bean pancake.

Seafood pajeon

In Korean a seafood pajeon is called haemul pajeon . Various seafood are used in the batter and toppings.

Ingredients for haemul pajeon (a variant of pajeon; haemul means “seafood”)

Via Wikipedia

This is a dish that, for me,  didn’t see in my Korean drama years, but lately the word “Korean Pizza” caught my attention.  Last week,  I went for my Korean food fix, and this menu was showed as a highlight.  I was not sure I could  consume another dish that day.  My plan was to try one bite and wrap up to take away. When it was served it looked almost like this.

My one bite turned into two and three…it was good though you need to put the source that come with it to enjoy more of its flavor . It’s  a little crispy but I don’t think  it’s anywhere near pancake imo,  closer to a big gigantic Tempura (Japanese dish).  I took home and warmed it later, it was still good.  Although, that was my first time,  I surely would go back for more. 🙂

5 Responses »

  1. i really want to know how to cook this. I think i better search the internet for instruction for how to cook it. thanks for the info about the name. I only know it as korean pancake =).

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories